AI generated because I'm lazy... and nobody is paying me for this.
My Brain Broke so I’m Learning Chess....
(Originally written last month) Recovering from Brain Injury with Chess.So, what happened to me? Why is a 64 year old man trying to learn Chess?
An illness last year affected my brain functions in unusual and debilitating ways. I’ve been an autodidact my whole life, with a sharp mind, able to hyper-focus thanks to the weird way my brain worked. At the same time I had impulse issues, and was on some kind of autism/adhd “spectrum” (properly diagnosed 30 years ago by a real Psychiatrist, not an internet “What potato are you?” Test).
Then last year happened. Something crashed physically. My vitamin levels went with it, and my brain functions held their hand as they skipped out the door. We won’t get into how close I was to seeking help in Switzerland of the terminal variety.
The Docs got my body/system back into balance, but not my mental faculties. I’m a writer, with 15+ novels under my belt (Yes, most published) and I could no longer do what I loved. I felt permanently tired, and even caffeine didn’t do much. Thinking was like pushing through a cloud of mallow fog. My memory was non existent. I have forgotten more about my life than I ever knew. I tried to learn a new language, but just couldn’t do it. (I once learned Ancient Hebrew in 6 weeks from a textbook).
My sense of taste has gone squiffy too. I was a coffee addict, yet I don’t enjoy the flavour any more. Spicy food is one of the few things that register well on my tongue now.
A slight positive is that my ‘ego’ function seems to have backed off. I rarely have thoughts about me, or my opinions, or other people, and I discovered that my love of puzzles is still there. Time whizzes by now, and I can rarely remember what I did.
A neuroscientist I know suggested I deliberately learn something difficult that demanded logic, puzzling, memory, and creativity. He suggested Chess, so last December I bought a new XBox game and used it to teach myself the moves, and rules, and basic tactics (all built into the tutorials). His theory is I can benefit from Neuroplasticity - the brain’s ability to repurpose existing synapses and create new connections at any age - if I push myself hard enough.
Someday, I might even be able to study books again.
So, here I am. Tackling one of the most complex games in the world, with the aim to reach “A-ranked Player” rating status, because he told me to aim high, and not give up. I accepted the free month of Chess.com membership to see how this place works, and hopefully learn something.
BUT I won’t be able to do it like a normal beginner.
I have ditched most opening theory (but not principles) and chosen methods that depend on me understanding the “plan” rather than memorising lines. I bought a book (The Chess Memory Palace - John Holden) and am learning his system. My initial aim is to memorise a game from the past so I can replay the moves on a board, then will see if I can apply it to opening lines, and maybe after that, try a regular opening.
I watch a lot of videos on “best openings” and retain very little of it, although they are very entertaining (Ben Finegold and Alex Banzea are two of my favourites). I love to see beautiful games played, and one in particular struck me as amazing. I rewatch it whenever I need to remind myself why I’m doing this.
(Ivanchuk - Kasparov (Linares 1991) in case anyone reads this and wonders what it was.)
I mainly play against bots, software, and a Millenium King chess computer as I learn. I am terrible on the 2D board, so bought a Chessnut Air and will learn to hook that up for my online games. Once I’m confident that I can play a full game without a brain-fart, then I’ll try the same with actual players.
Hopefully a year from now I will have made progress and maybe get to like the ‘new me’. No plans to become a Master at this time, but if I make enough progress, hey, why not? I could become the oldest guy ever to get a title by the time I’m done (Probably be over 70 by then). Doubtful... but nothing’s impossible as long as you’re still breathing is it?
If anyone cares, I can update on my progress here, but this post only exists because I’m still a writer at heart, and can’t stop myself, even though no fiction is coming out.
Have fun all!