lichess.org
Donate

The Tournament’s Not Over, Until It’s Over

so bad tournament armenian tournaments

so bad tournament armenian tournaments

That is really motivating. Thank you.

That is really motivating. Thank you.

Quite motivating in all honesty, but seriously, this has happened to me before in a tournament, I can't seem to do anything about the increasing pressure to just give up :/

Quite motivating in all honesty, but seriously, this has happened to me before in a tournament, I can't seem to do anything about the increasing pressure to just give up :/

@KenulL_76 said in #3:

That is really motivating. Thank you.

@KenulL_76 said in #3: > That is really motivating. Thank you.

Well, I can relate the same with you.... ( Even I'm not of your level ) but I had two Elite tournaments for me back to back where I felt the same thing!
First was the District level Chess Competition where I was easily able to outplay my OPs till the 5th round and was on top for sure and thinking that I will be still on top after 6th round, I became so easy that wasnt even focused in the last game and lost it.
The second I can relate with you very much but not the result. Ahead of the District was State level Championship and there were about 7 rounds in total. I had lost the first one and was feeling the pressure in the second one and with an almost drawish position, I blundered and lost it.... After I knew that it was very difficult to make it to top 5 as the score won't support me in last and I felt that it's over but not my mates... They encouraged me and I, with no pressure on the 3rd game, won it very easily. After 3 consecutive wins, from bottom 10 to top 15, I felt I've done my way. The next day I didn't let my hope give up but the pressure was the obstacle which I had to overcome of. I didn't let it affect even the slightest of my game and won the last two matches but unfortunately, due to tiebreaks, I was out and missed the Nationals by 0.5 a point..... So I do agree with you by 80/20%.

Well, I can relate the same with you.... ( Even I'm not of your level ) but I had two Elite tournaments for me back to back where I felt the same thing! First was the District level Chess Competition where I was easily able to outplay my OPs till the 5th round and was on top for sure and thinking that I will be still on top after 6th round, I became so easy that wasnt even focused in the last game and lost it. The second I can relate with you very much but not the result. Ahead of the District was State level Championship and there were about 7 rounds in total. I had lost the first one and was feeling the pressure in the second one and with an almost drawish position, I blundered and lost it.... After I knew that it was very difficult to make it to top 5 as the score won't support me in last and I felt that it's over but not my mates... They encouraged me and I, with no pressure on the 3rd game, won it very easily. After 3 consecutive wins, from bottom 10 to top 15, I felt I've done my way. The next day I didn't let my hope give up but the pressure was the obstacle which I had to overcome of. I didn't let it affect even the slightest of my game and won the last two matches but unfortunately, due to tiebreaks, I was out and missed the Nationals by 0.5 a point..... So I do agree with you by 80/20%.

@groshks said in #4:

Quite motivating in all honesty, but seriously, this has happened to me before in a tournament, I can't seem to do anything about the increasing pressure to just give up :/

Just forget it’s a tournament, and take as separate rounds, where in each of them you just want to show the best chess you can.

@groshks said in #4: > Quite motivating in all honesty, but seriously, this has happened to me before in a tournament, I can't seem to do anything about the increasing pressure to just give up :/ Just forget it’s a tournament, and take as separate rounds, where in each of them you just want to show the best chess you can.

@Peeyush_Sonkar said in #8:

Well, I can relate the same with you.... ( Even I'm not of your level ) but I had two Elite tournaments for me back to back where I felt the same thing!
First was the District level Chess Competition where I was easily able to outplay my OPs till the 5th round and was on top for sure and thinking that I will be still on top after 6th round, I became so easy that wasnt even focused in the last game and lost it.
The second I can relate with you very much but not the result. Ahead of the District was State level Championship and there were about 7 rounds in total. I had lost the first one and was feeling the pressure in the second one and with an almost drawish position, I blundered and lost it.... After I knew that it was very difficult to make it to top 5 as the score won't support me in last and I felt that it's over but not my mates... They encouraged me and I, with no pressure on the 3rd game, won it very easily. After 3 consecutive wins, from bottom 10 to top 15, I felt I've done my way. The next day I didn't let my hope give up but the pressure was the obstacle which I had to overcome of. I didn't let it affect even the slightest of my game and won the last two matches but unfortunately, due to tiebreaks, I was out and missed the Nationals by 0.5 a point..... So I do agree with you by 80/20%.

My point is the following: to do the best possible for every particiular tournament.

Sometimes we get lucky, sometimes miss something like in your case with 0.5 point.

However , if the tournament playing strategy is based on aright mindset you will increase you chances for a better result :-)

@Peeyush_Sonkar said in #8: > Well, I can relate the same with you.... ( Even I'm not of your level ) but I had two Elite tournaments for me back to back where I felt the same thing! > First was the District level Chess Competition where I was easily able to outplay my OPs till the 5th round and was on top for sure and thinking that I will be still on top after 6th round, I became so easy that wasnt even focused in the last game and lost it. > The second I can relate with you very much but not the result. Ahead of the District was State level Championship and there were about 7 rounds in total. I had lost the first one and was feeling the pressure in the second one and with an almost drawish position, I blundered and lost it.... After I knew that it was very difficult to make it to top 5 as the score won't support me in last and I felt that it's over but not my mates... They encouraged me and I, with no pressure on the 3rd game, won it very easily. After 3 consecutive wins, from bottom 10 to top 15, I felt I've done my way. The next day I didn't let my hope give up but the pressure was the obstacle which I had to overcome of. I didn't let it affect even the slightest of my game and won the last two matches but unfortunately, due to tiebreaks, I was out and missed the Nationals by 0.5 a point..... So I do agree with you by 80/20%. My point is the following: to do the best possible for every particiular tournament. Sometimes we get lucky, sometimes miss something like in your case with 0.5 point. However , if the tournament playing strategy is based on aright mindset you will increase you chances for a better result :-)

The opposite happened to me, I was playing in a district championship, and by the 5th round ( it was a 6 round tournament) I had 3 out of 4 points, only having lost to the top seed, who was 1400ish FIDE, and 2100 rapid lichess apparently ( it was a district tournament so there wernt crazily high rated players ). I still had a chance to qualify for the state championship had I won or even drawn the game. I feel like I had got a advantage a few moves into the middlegame ( I don't have the PGN so I couldn't analyze afterwards ) as my opponent had doubled his own g and f pawns with a short castled king. But I wasn't able to take advantage of it and ended up in a drawish 2 rooks vs 2 rooks plus a few pawns. My opponent managed to get a passed A pawn earlier in the game, which eliminated my winning chances as he simply pushed it to a2, there was no way to promote the pawn or for me to take it, so it was heading towards the draw. I tried to play for a win, which caused some kingside weaknesses which my opponent started targeting. Then a blundered a skewer trying to go on a mating attack, which hung a rook in one move AND allowed my opponent to promote :/
The top 5 had to qualify and I ended up 15th, and was one of the bottom players with 4 points, after winning my last game.

The opposite happened to me, I was playing in a district championship, and by the 5th round ( it was a 6 round tournament) I had 3 out of 4 points, only having lost to the top seed, who was 1400ish FIDE, and 2100 rapid lichess apparently ( it was a district tournament so there wernt crazily high rated players ). I still had a chance to qualify for the state championship had I won or even drawn the game. I feel like I had got a advantage a few moves into the middlegame ( I don't have the PGN so I couldn't analyze afterwards ) as my opponent had doubled his own g and f pawns with a short castled king. But I wasn't able to take advantage of it and ended up in a drawish 2 rooks vs 2 rooks plus a few pawns. My opponent managed to get a passed A pawn earlier in the game, which eliminated my winning chances as he simply pushed it to a2, there was no way to promote the pawn or for me to take it, so it was heading towards the draw. I tried to play for a win, which caused some kingside weaknesses which my opponent started targeting. Then a blundered a skewer trying to go on a mating attack, which hung a rook in one move AND allowed my opponent to promote :/ The top 5 had to qualify and I ended up 15th, and was one of the bottom players with 4 points, after winning my last game.