lichess.org
Donate

Unknown chess openings that suck

The Englund Gambit 1 d4 e5? is bad enough by itself, no need for 2...Qh4 to make it bad.
King's Gambit 1 e4 e5 2 f4? is bad as well per Fischer & Kramnik.
All openings with Gambit in their name are more or less unsound, except Queen's Gambit.

The Englund Gambit 1 d4 e5? is bad enough by itself, no need for 2...Qh4 to make it bad. King's Gambit 1 e4 e5 2 f4? is bad as well per Fischer & Kramnik. All openings with Gambit in their name are more or less unsound, except Queen's Gambit.

@tpr said in #2:

The Englund Gambit 1 d4 e5? is bad enough by itself, no need for 2...Qh4 to make it bad.
King's Gambit 1 e4 e5 2 f4? is bad as well per Fischer & Kramnik.
All openings with Gambit in their name are more or less unsound, except Queen's Gambit.
In the Englund Gambit are some traps with black that actually work, that's why I included this line as one of the worst

@tpr said in #2: > The Englund Gambit 1 d4 e5? is bad enough by itself, no need for 2...Qh4 to make it bad. > King's Gambit 1 e4 e5 2 f4? is bad as well per Fischer & Kramnik. > All openings with Gambit in their name are more or less unsound, except Queen's Gambit. In the Englund Gambit are some traps with black that actually work, that's why I included this line as one of the worst

#3
"In the Englund Gambit are some traps"

  • Sure, as in most gambits, but if white plays well black loses by force.
#3 "In the Englund Gambit are some traps" * Sure, as in most gambits, but if white plays well black loses by force.