lichess.org
Donate

Differences between FIDE Circuit and Women's FIDE Circuit

Such an important article! I didn't even know that a women's FIDE circuit had been announced. The importance of rapid & blitz in it really seems absurd...

We can't help feel like the FIDE people really don't put much thought in the women's section, as you pointed out there's a number of other events that could be included in the circuit if they didn't want to include everything and use a rating limit like the open one was, and I can't think of a reason for them to not have included them.

About the WC runner up, I think the advantage they are giving in the open section is fair now, they deserve to have a good head start considering how hard it is to have qualified for a match, but it's important to prevent against them not playing at all until the candidates, I with they had had gone for a similar balance for the women's too.

Such an important article! I didn't even know that a women's FIDE circuit had been announced. The importance of rapid & blitz in it really seems absurd... We can't help feel like the FIDE people really don't put much thought in the women's section, as you pointed out there's a number of other events that could be included in the circuit if they didn't want to include everything and use a rating limit like the open one was, and I can't think of a reason for them to not have included them. About the WC runner up, I think the advantage they are giving in the open section is fair now, they deserve to have a good head start considering how hard it is to have qualified for a match, but it's important to prevent against them not playing at all until the candidates, I with they had had gone for a similar balance for the women's too.

So many legends in one frame! :D

So many legends in one frame! :D

She is looking at her phone

She is looking at her phone

Yeah she really did is looking at her phone

Yeah she really did is looking at her phone

This is basically, "WhO cAn ThInK fAsTeR?"

This is basically, "WhO cAn ThInK fAsTeR?"

Blitz being anything except a last resort tiebreak exposes FIDE's mercenary attitude. These are the guys that bring us titles like FIDE Arena Candidate Master. Hybrid is needed to make chess accessible. The most recent ex world champion needs to be able to play candidates. As for people taking long breaks, very understandable in the non-960 game. I hope for a new era in chess but it doesn't look like FIDE can shake off their hubris.

Blitz being anything except a last resort tiebreak exposes FIDE's mercenary attitude. These are the guys that bring us titles like FIDE Arena Candidate Master. Hybrid is needed to make chess accessible. The most recent ex world champion needs to be able to play candidates. As for people taking long breaks, very understandable in the non-960 game. I hope for a new era in chess but it doesn't look like FIDE can shake off their hubris.