Comments on https://lichess.org/@/lizard1/blog/the-rook-that-did-nothing--until-it-won-the-game/ZZDCSB4C
Comments on https://lichess.org/@/lizard1/blog/the-rook-that-did-nothing--until-it-won-the-game/ZZDCSB4C
Comments on https://lichess.org/@/lizard1/blog/the-rook-that-did-nothing--until-it-won-the-game/ZZDCSB4C
In the Sicilian Najdorf Variation there also is the rook move ...Ra7, intending ...Rd7.
In the Sicilian Najdorf Variation there also is the rook move ...Ra7, intending ...Rd7.
Yes, rook swings like that are a common occurrence in many openings, but what I think makes this game unique is how long it took for that rook to actually join the game, like a Ferrari sitting in a garage, and also the fact that when Ra2 was played, it had no initial prospects of coming into play, it was a very long-term idea.
Rook is .......?
queen!
Amazing! That rook, well, the opponent probably didn't realize what the rook was going to do next!
I appreciate this blog. Do you ever think it would ever be possible to create studies or blogs of many positional games/positions? Thanks
I don't mean to sound rude, but should we just be like the rook in this game? Basically, be on useless lookout, sit back, relax, and enjoy, until the time comes. I mean, speaking therapeutically—err... psychologically (sorry about that), when we have a task that seems like it will never occur, but we prepare anyway, and when it finally occurs, we don't rush things and blunder anymore. If we apply that same rule to chess, will we have to predict the game, assume it'll happen, and put the piece that might be useful later on? Just asking (:
Amazing! That rook, well, the opponent probably didn't realize what the rook was going to do next!